Hindu astrology (also known as Indian astrology, more recently Vedic astrology, also Jyotish or Jyotisha, from Sanskrit jyotiṣa, from jyótis- “light, heavenly body”) is the traditional Hindusystem of astronomy and astrology. It has three branches.

Jyotiṣa is one of the Vedanga, the six auxiliary disciplines used to support Vedic rituals. Early jyotish is concerned with the preparation of a calendar to fix the date of sacrificial rituals. Nothing is written on planets. There are mentions of eclipse causing “demons” in the Atharaveda and Chandogya Upanishad, the Chandogya mentioning Rahu. In fact the term graha, which is now taken to mean planet, originally meant demon. The Rgveda also mentions an eclipse causing demon, Svarbhānu, however the specific term of “graha” becomes applied to Svarbhānu in the later Mahabharata and Ramayana.

Astrology remains an important facet in the lives of many Hindus. In Hindu culture, newborns are traditionally named based on their jyotish charts, and astrological concepts are pervasive in the organization of the calendar and holidays as well as in many areas of life, such as in making decisions made about marriage, opening a new business, and moving into a new home. Astrology retains a position among the sciences in modern India. Following a judgement of the Andhra Pradesh High Court in 2001, some Indian universities offer advanced degrees in astrology. 

Our Astrologer

  • Pt. K.P.Devadi : kalsarpayog Expert (Delhi)
  • R.K.Single  :  Karma kand Ghaziabad
  • Pt. Ram Pratap Sharma : Rudrabhishek Expert (South Ganesh nagar)
  • Ms. Meera Arora (Tarot card Readear)
  •  Acharya R.K.SHRIDHAR :

 Question Expert Delhi